Sun dried tomato and pesto bread

This is one of the first recipes I tried in my bread machine after getting bored with the basic white and wholemeal. Here we are a couple of years later (the bread machine long gone) and again I’ve slipped in to the rut of baking a basic white or wholemeal loaf a couple of times a week.  The original recipe was from a bread machine book I borrowed from my local library and unfortunately I can’t remember which book. I’ve adapted the recipe based on the principles I’ve learned from The river cottage bread handbook. I can’t recommend this book strongly enough to anyone who wants to bake there own bread (without a bread machine).

This bread worked just as well, if not better baked in the oven rather than the bread machine. The flavours were just as delicious as I remembered and the smells from the oven as it baked were mouth watering. I’ll certainly be baking this bread again and hopefully it has got be out of my basic bread rut/boredom. I’m submitting this to yeastspotting over at wild yeast.

Sun dried tomato and pesto bread

  • 500g Strong white bread flour
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp fast acting dried yeast
  • 2tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbs pesto
  • 275ml warm water
  • 75g sun dried tomatoes, finely sliced
  1. Combine the flour, yeast, salt and sugar in a large mixing bowl (or the bowl of a food mixer if using). Add the water, oil and pesto and mix to a rough dough if not using a mixer. If you’re using a mixer, attach the dough hook and switch the mixer on to the recommended speed for kneading bread (speed 2 on my kitchenaid). Knead for 10 minutes by hand or 3-5 minutes in a mixer (add a little flour or water as needed to make a soft, easily kneaded dough. Add the sun dried tomatoes a couple of minutes from the end so that they are dispersed throughout the dough.
  2. Shape the dough in to a round and place in a lightly oiled bowl, cover and leave to rise in  a warm place until doubled in size (approximately 1 hour but it will depend on the warmth of the room).
  3. Knock the dough back by tipping on to a lightly floured surface and pressing all over with your finger tips.
  4. Shape the loaf as desired for baking. I decided to bake this loaf in a tin so I shaped the dough in to and oblong and placed in a tin. Cover and return to a warm room to prove (around 30 mins).
  5. Pre heat the oven to 250C/gas mark 10.
  6. Once the loaf is ready for the oven, slash the top with a serrated knife and place the tin in the oven. After 10 minutes turn the heat down to 200C/gas 6. After 15 minutes I covered the loaf with tin foil as it was browning quickly. Bake for 30-40 minutes. You can tell when the bread is ready by turning the bread out and tapping the base, if it sounds hollow the bread is ready.
  7. Leave to cool on a wire rack.
4 thoughts on “Sun dried tomato and pesto bread

  1. Pingback: Day 56 – 57 « Claire's 365

  2. Pingback: Review of 2010 « Purely food

  3. Loved this recipe !!!! Thank you !
    Just got my 1st and new Murphy Richards Bread maker yesterday and this recipe came out GREAT !!! I had some trouble converting the 500gr of flour to ML, But finally the amout of 800ML of white bread for bread machine did the job !!! The bread came out crispy and yummy !
    (I had only 45gr of sun dried tomato, But it came out great and my friends and I loved it. Now I’m making the 2nd batch with 75gr sun dried tomatoes….)

Leave a Reply

