White chocolate cake

As promised here is the recipe for the best cake I baked over the bank holiday weekend. I was a bit worried this cake would be too rich/sickly but I couldn’t have been more wrong. The cake was absolutely delicious, had a really nice moist texture and you could really taste the white chocolate. The frosting really worked well with the cake too. Not a recipe for those on a diet though.

I’m submitting this cake to we should cocoa, this month hosted by Chocolate teapot, as I think this would make a fantastic birthday party cake. Happy first birthday we should cocoa.

I apologise for the watermarking of the photograph but my previous post on bank holiday cake baking was reposted on another blog without my permission (a blog where it appears all the content is taken from different blogs). I’m not sure if I want to start watermarking all my images but it made sence to me to try to protect the two follow up cake posts.

Update: The site has now removed my content but sadly their latest posts are still other people’s content.

White chocolate cake
From good food magazine, April 2009, recipe by James Martin

For the cake
250g butter , plus a little extra for greasing
140g white chocolate , broken into pieces
250ml milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
250g self-raising flour
¼ tsp bicarbonate of soda
300g caster sugar
2 large eggs , lightly beaten

For the frosting
300g tub cream cheese
85g butter , softened
100g icing sugar , sifted

  • Heat the oven to 160C/fan 140C/gas 3.
  • Grease a deep 23cm cake tin and line the base with greaseproof paper.
  • Place the butter, white chocolate, milk and vanilla extract in a small saucepan, then heat gently, stirring, until melted.
  • Combine the flour, bicarb and sugar in a large bowl with a pinch of salt, then stir in the melted ingredients and eggs until smooth.
  • Pour the batter into the tin, then bake for 1 hr, or until the cake is golden and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  • Cool in the tin.
  • Once cool, the cake can be wrapped in cling film and foil, then frozen for up to 1 month.
  • To make the frosting, beat together the cream cheese, butter and icing sugar until smooth. Spread over the cake, then decorate with mini eggs.

Bakers tips (from good food magazine) – I followed these tips and got great results (I used supermarket own brand cream cheese and white chocolate)

Use full-fat cream cheese - Don’t use low-fat cream cheese, as this has a much higher water content than full fat and will be more prone to going runny.

Choosing chocolate - We’ve used various qualities of white chocolate and have had a good result with all of them, but found that flavour-wise the standard 200g own-brand bars that each supermarket sells tasted great, plus the chocolate was easy to work with.

Bake for an hour - Because this cake has a high sugar content, it will develop a very dark crust as it bakes. Don’t remove the cake from the oven until an hour is up – even if it looks ready.

Bubbly mixture? - The surface of the cake will get a volcanic-looking ring of bubbly mixture in the middle during cooking. This is because the batter is much thinner than a normal cake mixture. By the end of the cooking time, this will have evened out and the surface should be uniform.

Watch the heat - Don’t let the chocolate, milk, butter mixture get too hot. Melt over a very gentle heat, stirring regularly so the chocolate doesn’t catch on the bottom. This should take a good 5 mins.

13 thoughts on “White chocolate cake

      • When featuring blog-sourced recipes in my articles, I ALWAYS use links and NEVER use pics. I also notify all bloggers involved, and receive thank you notes instead of takedown notices. Decadent frosting, btw.

  1. Yum!!! And this is our first cake to the party too ;0)
    Shame that your work is being reposted, I do wish people would get a grip and ask permission before stealing content!

  2. This looks delicious…would love to see what it looks like inside too! I’ve just made a rose and white chocolate cake, and the amount of icing in the recipe was completely obscene! This looks indulgent, but not completely insane :-)

    • The cake was eaten far too quickly! I didn’t get chance to taken any photos during the party and there was no left at the end! Might have to make it again soon just to photograph the inside!

  3. Such an appealing cake. so pretty. A slice of it would good down really well just now. I appear to have hot the afternoon slump.

    It is so annoying when content is taken, it drives me nuts.

  4. Stealing content makes me really cross, but I wouldn’t have a clue what to do about it if I spotted it. Great looking party cake, thanks so much for bringing it along to We Should Cocoa – hoping I’ve been reserved a slice ;-)

  5. Pingback: Review of 2011 | Purely food

  6. This cake really didn’t work for me at all..the top looked like a creme brûlée and even after and hour it wasn’t cooked and just tasted like flour. I put 10 grams extra of chocolate and I still couldnt taste the slightest hint of white chocolate. Not something I will try again but m glad it worked for other people :)

Leave a Reply

