Pasta with Purple Sprouting Broccoli, Anchovies and Breadcrumbs


This is a first for me and this blog in several ways – My first seasonal recipe, the first recipe I have tried from my “Recipes I want to try” section and the first time I have tried purple sprouting broccoli! You’ll have to excuse the photo it was the best one from the bunch I took but I’m not happy with it – don’t let it put you off this dish.

This is a recipe I found whilst putting together this months whats in season post. I bookmarked it and added it to my “Recipes I want to try” and less than a week later I’m eating it. The recipe is from Silvernutmeg a Lancashire based website selling professional cookware I can only dream of owning. Here is the original recipe and below is the recipe with my minor tweaks. I was a bit apprehensive of whether I would like this dish (mainly as I hate broccoli) but decided to give it a go anyway. I’m glad I did! Every mouthful tastes different, with hints of lemon, chili and salty anchovies coating the breadcrumbs mixed in with the pasta and broccoli.

Pasta with Purple Sprouting Broccoli, Anchovies and Breadcrumbs

Serves 2 (go to the original recipe for a recipe for 4 people)

150g purple sprouting broccoli, trimmed into heads and stems of around 1-2cm.
Enough pasta for two, shape of your choice (I used wholemeal penne).
35g wholemeal breadcrumbs, toasted in a dry frying pan.
1 small clove of garlic, finely chopped.
1 dried chili, roughly chopped.
2 anchovy fillets,
squeeze of lemon juice,
Parmesan and extra virgin olive oil to serve.

  • Boil or steam the broccoli until cooked (the original recipe recommended boiling for 10 minutes but I reduced this to 5-7 minutes).
  • Boil the pasta in another pan until al dente.
  • Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a frying pan. Once hot add the garlic, anchovies and chili. stir until the anchovies breakdown and a paste forms.
  • Add the breadcrumbs and cook until crisp (you may need to add a little more oil).
  • Drain the broccoli when cooked and add to the bread crumbs mixing well.
  • Drain the pasta and add to the broccoli/breadcrumbs. Add a good squeeze of lemon juice a handful of grated Parmesan and a good drizzle of extra virgin olive oil. Stir through. Serve with extra Parmesan to top the dish.
One thought on “Pasta with Purple Sprouting Broccoli, Anchovies and Breadcrumbs

Leave a Reply

