Fresh from the oven – June 2010 – Turkish Pide

It’s been a few months since I have participated in a Fresh from the oven challenge so I felt I really had to try to fit it in this month. However time got a way from me and I found the 28th arriving before I had chance to bake. I had planned to make the bread after returning from a weekend at my parents yesterday (whilst my boyfriend was watching the world cup) but a drive that should have taken an hour and a half took 4 hours. So not only did the bread not get baked but we ended up sat in a traffic jam in scorching temperatures listening to the match on the radio. Anyway I had the day off work today so a bit last minute but at last I  baked this months challenge.

This months challenge was hosted by Pei Lin a.k.a Mrs Ergü, whose blog can be found here. She chose Turkish Pide. Pide is almost like a national bread in Turkey (after Simit). Quoting Iffet from her blog – My Turkish Kitchen:

Pide is the special Turkish bread for Ramadan. During the holy month of Ramadan, you could see long lines in front of bakeries. Those people wait to have one of these breads to break their fast with it. The smell of pide ‘force’ you to get one even you don’t think about buying it.

It was certainly worth the wait. It was simple to make (apart from the measurements being in cups, I much prefer to measure flour using scales when baking) and tasted delicious (but it is quiet rich because of the butter content). I had to improvise slightly, we had no black sesame seeds in so had to use poppy seeds.

Turkish Pide
adapted from Iffet’s My Turkish Kitchen, PİDE

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups (to 5 cups) Plain flour
  • 1 and 3/4 cups Warm Water
  • 1/2 stick (60g) Butter ( melted )
  • 1/2 tablespoon Instant Yeast
  • 1 tablespoon Sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon Salt

Topping:
Black and White Sesame Seeds

  1. In a large mixing bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients
  2. Add melted Butter and Warm Water into this mixture and knead. The dough should be sticky
  3. Cover the bowl with a plastic wrap and keep it in a warm place for rising
  4. Let the dough rise to double its size
  5. Knead the dough again until it is bubble free
  6. Place a parchment paper on a 13″ by 10.5″ baking tray
  7. Take the dough to the tray and make it flat with your hands until it cover all of the surface of the tray
  8. Dampen your hands with Water if the dough stick to your hands on this step
  9. Then take a knife and give the dough square shapes going deep down
  10. Sprinkle some Sesame Seeds on top
  11. Preheat the oven to 350F
  12. Let rise the dough for half an hour
  13. Bake it for 30 minutes or until the color of pide turns light brown
  14. Take the pide out of the oven and let it cool for 20 minutes and cover it with a clean kitchen towel to keep it soft.
5 thoughts on “Fresh from the oven – June 2010 – Turkish Pide

  1. Chele – I found the dough fairly easy do work with, a little sticker than normal but ok.

    Sarah – I probably would. The only thing that would put me off would be the butter content.

    Sally – I thought it would be easier than using a knife. This bread reminded me of foccacia, so used my fingers but I tried to be more ordered (ie squares) than when I make foccacia.

  2. Pingback: Review of 2010 « Purely food

Leave a Reply

