Yorkshire sculpture park restaurant

I can’t believe it’s a week tomorrow that I sat my final exam, marking the end of two years of studying. I’ve done so much in the last six days. I’ve walked on the beach, cooked, visited family, read (for pleasure), eaten out and taken lots of photos. I’m loving all the free time I have now, even though I’ve been back at work for the last two days. One of the things I’ve decided I want to do now I have more time (as well as get back in the kitchen and of course back to regular blogging) is to improve my photography. We got our canon EOS 400D last december and I still have no idea how to use it other than the basic automatic modes. I’ve got a couple of books to read, bookmarked a few online tutorials/websites and dug out the manual but the main thing I plan to do is practice. So with this in mind I have challenged myself to take a photo every day for the next year (a project 365). You can follow my progress here.

Day 1 of 365 photo

The day after the exam we were staying with my family in Yorkshire and  spent the day at Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Every summer when I was growing up we would visit YSP and it is still somewhere I love to visit. This was my first trip back since I moved to Cheshire 3 years ago and we had a great day. It was day 1 of my 365 and what a place to take photos, so inspiring. Anyway since this is a food blog I’ll move on to the food.

So often when you eat out in tourist spots the food is a disappointment and an over priced disappointment at that. For this reason when I come across anywhere where this isn’t the case I like to tell you all about it. The restaurant at YSP is one such place. The restaurant is on the top floor of the visitors center (a stunning modern building in its own right) and has a balcony area with stunning views over the park. The food is freshly prepared, using locally sourced produce. We both had the hot baguette with roast pork loin, crackling, warm apple source, gravy and homemade chips (£5.95). The portions were generous, the pork and homemade chips delicious and the gravy had so much flavour. There were also a good selection of cold sandwiches available as well as some hot dishes and a variety of homemade cakes and pastries. Hopefully it won’t be another three years before we visit the park again and we’ll definitely be going back to the restaurant.

3 thoughts on “Yorkshire sculpture park restaurant

  1. Pingback: Review of 2010 « Purely food

Leave a Reply

