Review of 2010

I hope you all have had a good Christmas and new year.  I don’t imagine this will be a very long review as I have published a shockingly low 30 posts this year (89 in 2009), completed 1 Daring cooks challenge, 0 Daring bakers and 3 Fresh from the oven challenges. The main reason for the lack of blog posts was the study time I had to put in to complete a work related course. The last 6-8 months of the course were pretty intensive and time consuming so blogging had to take a bit of a back seat. I completed the 2 year course in September 2010 and I found out at the end of December that I had passed with distinction. Mean while below are my highlights of my year in my kitchen and on this blog.

January – I shared a Nigel Slater recipe for gammon and baked onions, perfect for this time of year.

February – we visited the Lake District, got engaged and I started planning our wedding in Italy. I also completed my only daring cooks challenge of the year, a middle eastern mezze and shared a recipe for tomato, sausage and fennel seed ragu which I still cook regularly.

March – I shared a recipe for Lancashire hotpot, another recipe I still cook and enjoy.

April – I shared preserved lemons and homemade baked beans. I haven’t repeated either recipe but plan to in 2011.

May – I moved my blog to wordpress and shared another 3 recipe we still regularly enjoy, aubergine parmigiana, left over roast lamb shepherds pie and cous cous with aubergine and feta.

June – the only post I published was for Turkish pide, a fresh from the oven challenge.

July and August passed with no posts.

September – I finished my course, visited the restaurant at The Yorkshire Sculpture park, started a photography blog, discovered polenta was much nicer in polenta bread than served as polenta and reviewed a cookbook by one of my favorite TV cooks, Bill Granger.

October – I shared 3 delicious recipes, Nigella’s maple pecan bundt cake, mackerel with Asian spices and a 30 minute mushroom risotto which I have lost count of how many times I have cooked since.

November – I shared one of my favorite breads, sun-dried tomato and pesto bread and also another recipe I cook regularly, turkey and white bean chilli.

December – I finished the year quietly (as I was working a lot of weekends as well as getting ready for christmas) with recipes for cheddar cheese biscuits and panforte.

So although the blog was a lot quieter than 2009, the majority of the recipes I did share with you have gone on to become firm favorites in our house.

So what does 2011 have in store? I’m currently recovering from a virus but as soon as I’m better I’m looking forward to getting back in the kitchen  (I received the flavour thesaurus and Rose Prince’s Kitchenella for christmas and I’m looking forward to dipping in to both of these) and hopefully here on the blog more recipes than last year, more book reviews and more bread baking (sourdough is high on my list). Outside the kitchen I look forward to further improvements in my photography and of course our wedding in Tuscany next summer.

One thought on “Review of 2010

  1. Pingback: Review of 2011 | Purely food

Leave a Reply

