Sourdough starter day 1

I’m feeling almost back to full health today so I decided to start as I mean to go on and jump back in to the kitchen and back to blogging more frequently. I decided to start simply with a sourdough starter.

I watched a River cottage Bites on sourdough this morning where they used a mix of spelt and white bread flour with water (although they said the spelt wasn’t necessary and you could just use all white). Simple enough but the instructions were a little vague and since I owned the River Cottage bread handbook I pulled it off the shelf and had a good read of the sourdough chapter. Confusingly it said to use wholemeal instead of white bread flour as it will ferment quicker and more vigorously. I pulled Dan Lepard’s The handmade loaf off the bookshelf too as I wasn’t keen on doing a wholemeal starter as I felt a white flour starter would be more versatile. The starter Dan Lepard’s book involved rye flour and live yogurt neither of which I had in the house but it did also use white flour. I really wanted to make the starter today before I lost my enthusiasm. In the end I used white bread flour and water as recommended by a Fresh from the oven member Dom at belleaukitchen since he appears to have had good results with this ratio and it’s not that dissimilar to the River cottage Bites recipe.

Day 1

  • mix one cup of white bread flour and one cup of water in a jar.
  • Stir well to incorporate lots of air.
  • Cover loosely with cling film and put it some where warm.
2 thoughts on “Sourdough starter day 1

  1. Good luck! I’ve now made (and killed I hate to say!) no less than 3 starters. I am a bad parent!!!! Santa very kindly left me a copy of Dan’s ‘Handmade Loaf’ and I was thinking of giving that one a try …
    I’ll be watching your updates with interest and keeping everything crossed for you to. I am sure you’ll be a far superior parent to me anyhoo lol

  2. Pingback: Day 117 « Claire's 365

Leave a Reply

