French baguettes and 2 simple vegetable soups

We mainly eat wholemeal and malted grain loaves in our house but every now and then it’s nice to have a bit of white bread. I followed the basic white bread recipe (available here) from the River cottage book but instead of making a loaf I made baguettes. Next time I bake white bread I’m going to try adding a ladle of sourdough starter but I couldn’t do that this week as I baked these at the same time as a malted grain bread (which I used some starter in). I bake my baguettes using a this tray.

These baguettes were the perfect accompaniment to the simple soups I made this weekend. I enjoy eating soup on a cold, winters day and both these soups are delicious but more than that they’re simple to cook. First up I made a simple carrot soup from Greedy Gourmet. Adding rice to the soup instead of potato simplified the process but equally you could add extras if you have more time such as turnip or squash.

Next up I made the simplest frozen pea soup ever. I had my doubts about this recipe but went ahead with it anyway. This soup is so simple, it’s nearly as easy as opening a carton of “fresh” soup but so much better. The basic idea is a suggestion from Rose Prince’s The new English kitchen, where she suggests cooking frozen peas in stock then blitzing with a hand blender. I built on this basic recipe by starting with a base of sauted onion and garlic to boost the flavours but maybe you don’t even need to. I surprised myself by enjoying this soup perhaps even more so that the carrot soup and best of all soups don’t get any simpler than this one. We did agree that this soup would have been even better with a small amount of crisply, cooked bacon sprinkled over the soup to finish. Croutons would also have been a nice addition to either soup if we didn’t have any fresh bread, read here how to make your own.

Frozen pea soup

Olive oil
1 onion, peeled and chopped
1 clove of garlic, finely diced
400g frozen peas
600ml chicken or vegetable stock
Salt and pepper

  • Heat the olive oil in a saucepan. Add the garlic and onion and saute until soft but not coloured.
  • Add the frozen peas and stock, bring to the boil then reduce the heat and simmer for 5 minutes.
  • Blitz the soup with a hand blender.
  • Serve.
4 thoughts on “French baguettes and 2 simple vegetable soups

  1. pea soup is one of my all time favourites and its nice to see an interesting version like yours… I bet you could have served these two soups swirled together in the same bowl… would have looked and tasted AMAZING!!!

  2. Thanks for the welcome! Your baguettes look amazing! I have been trying to perfect baguettes for some time now. I think I’m slowly making progress. That baguette tray is ridiculously awesome!

  3. Pingback: Ham hock in cider recipe « Purely food

Leave a Reply

