Chocolate and vanilla marble cake

This is a simple recipe for a delicious, moist cake that not only tastes good but looks impressive and far more complicated than it is. The vanilla and chocolate flavours come through strong and work well together. The recipe is from Gorgeous cakes by Annie Bell and I have included it below.

I made a few adaptations to this recipe as I needed to bake something at short notice so I had to find a recipe that used what I had in the house (admittedly I have a well stocked baking cupboard including lots of flours, sugars etc).

  • Firstly the caster sugar I had in was not golden.
  • I didn’t have any chocolate chips in so I omitted them.
  • The type of milk was not specified so maybe it’s not important but I used what we had (1%).
  • I never buy self-raising flour instead I follow the directions on the baking powder label which said 3 tsp to every 225g flour.
  • Since I only had a 100g bar of dark chocolate, I was unable to ice the cake.

Even with all these changes the cake was still delicious.

I made a few adaptations to the method too.

Firstly, I melted my chocolate in the microwave, here’s how:

  • Put the pieces of chocolate in a microwave proof bowl.
  • Microwave at 50% power for 30 seconds, stir, repeat until the chocolate is almost all melted.
  • At this point take the bowl out of the microwave and continue to stir as the residual heat should melt the last of the chocolate.

I used a silicone bundt tin and I did not bother to butter it and you do not need to use a knife to loosen the cake from the tin at the end. If you use a silicone bundt tin you will need to place it on a baking tray to bake.

Using a skewer I swirled together a bit the two different types of mixture before baking.

I found that at 30 minutes my skewer was not coming out clean but the cake was getting a bit too dark so I cover the top of the tin with foil and put the cake back in the oven. I continued to check with a skew until the cake was ready.

Marble Cake

100g dark chocolate, broken in to pieces
110g unsalted butter, diced
150g golden caster sugar
2 medium eggs
75mls milk
200g self-raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
25g dark chocolate chips
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Icing
40g white chocolate, broken into pieces
40g dark chocolate, broken into pieces

  • Preheat the oven to 170C fan/190C/gas 5 and butter a 23 cm ring mould.
  • Place the dark chocolate in a bowl set over a pan with a little simmering water in it and gently melt, leave to cool.
  • Cream the butter and sugar together. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then the milk. Don’t worry if the mixture appears curdled at this point; it will cream again in the next stage.
  • Sift together the flour and baking powder and gradually whisk them into the mixture.
  • Remove half the mixture to another bowl and stir in the cooled, melted chocolate and chocolate chips.  Stir the vanilla into the other half.
  • Drop alternate dessert spoons of the mixture into the prepared tin – you should have two layers. Smooth the surface with a spoon and bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden and risen, and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  • Remove from the oven. Run a knife around the inner and outer edges of the tin, turn the cake out on to a wire rack to cool.
  • If the cake has risen unevenly, trim the bottom a little to even it out.
  • To ice the cake, melt the white and dark chocolate separately in bowls set over simmering water. Using a teaspoon, drizzle first the white chocolate and then the dark chocolate over the cake.
  • Leave the chocolate to set for a couple of hours.
  • The cake will be good for several days, very crumbly to begin with, but it will firm up on the second day.
7 thoughts on “Chocolate and vanilla marble cake

  1. Pingback: Day 167-168 « Claire's 365

  2. I love marble cake, looks delish!

    I often substitute different sugars too, never seem to have the right one and luckily no disasters yet 🙂

  3. I made a very similar cake to this with a Rachel Allen Bake recipe. It surprised me how much you need to mix the two colours as I was worried about marbling too much but actually I didn’t marble enough. I am tempted to make one again now!

  4. Hello, my name is Grace i have been doing a experiment for my science class in nsw.
    my project question is
    what effects does different types of sugar have on marble cake?
    i have done my experiment and seen the results but i was wondering does it matter what type of sugar u put in a cake cause they all turned out pretty much the same!!!????
    thanks

Leave a Reply

