River cottage baking – bagels

It’s about time I did a bit of an update on the challenge I set myself to bake my way through the River Cottage Bread Handbook. I’ve haven’t given up but the variety of recipes I have being trying has slowed down a little. I guess it was inevitable really as there are only so many loaf recipes in there and the majority of bread I bake is loaves for sandwiches. The spelt loaf in particular gets baked quiet regularly now. I have also baked the pikelets a few times as well. I love being able to toast them straight from the freezer.

I did try a new recipe last week, bagels. Now I have made bagels before and wrote about them here. I liked that the recipe from River cottage didn’t include treacle in the poaching water (as I usually don’t have any in) but I didn’t like the flavour of the bread as much as the Rachel Allen recipe I usually use. I think that from now on I will follow the Rachel Allen recipe but not bother with the treacle in the poaching water and see how I get on.

2 thoughts on “River cottage baking – bagels

  1. I’ve always wanted to have a go at making bagels. Think I’ll follow your lead and try the Rachel Allen version when I next have some spare time at the weekend. I think you are very brave for having a stab at them!

    • We love bagels in this house. I don’t find them that hard to make. Just take that little bit longer due to the poaching but other than that they’re not any more complicated then any other yeast bread.

Leave a Reply

