Rhubarb compote

I picked my first rhubarb crop of the season this week. These last few years of trying to grow some of my own fruit and veg, rhubarb has been my biggest success. Unfortunately the rhubarb that grows in my garden is more green than pink especially when cooked but it still tastes just as good. This year I decided the first thing I would try was a compote with a hint of ginger (we discovered rhubarb and ginger crumble last year and loved the combination). The recipe (if you can even call it that) is  really quick and simple (less than 30 minutes from garden to jar). It’s delicious stirred in to porridge or natural yogurt.

Rhubarb compote

Approx 550g (5 stalks) rhubarb
3 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp ground ginger (optional)

  • Wash the rhubarb and chop in to 1cm pieces.
  • Place in a pan with the sugar, a splash of water and ginger (if using) . Simmer over a medium heat for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • I poured mine in to a sterilised mason jar, straight from the oven and stored in the fridge (since I knew I would start using it straight away).
3 thoughts on “Rhubarb compote

  1. Mmmmmmmmmm – I think this would be lovely for breakfast with some greek yoghurt just as much as it would suit a rich meat as a side. Think I may need to try this one out … just as soon as I can lay my hands on some rhubarb.

  2. Thanks for the recipe! I’m always looking for new ways to use rhubarb and the compote sounds delicious! I’m curious how you would use it though. I’m sure you could eat it like applesauce as a side or mix it with yogurt. Do you use yours in any more savory dishes?

    • I’ve used mine mixed in to plain yogurts and also stirred in to porridge. I have heard of using rhubarb jam with mackerel but I wondered if this batch I made was a bit sweet for that. It is something I plan on looking in to more later in the summer when there is more mackerel around.

Leave a Reply

