Fresh from the oven – Fougasse

This month it is exactly two year since I took over the running of Fresh from the oven. I can’t believe it has been so long. This month I took the opportunity to host a challenge and picked a type of bread I have wanted to bake for some time but never got round to. I chose a french flat bread called fougasse. I chose this recipe by Richard Bertinet but I also liked the sound of this recipe by Lorraine Pascale. So I followed Richard Bertinet’s recipe but divided the dough in half and added fresh thyme and chorzio to half the dough. I have to say I enjoyed the chorizo and thyme more than the plain white and I am keen to try different flavourings. I left it up to the members which recipe they used or even suggested they use a different recipe if perhaps they had a favorite one to share with us.As you can see I need a bit more practice at the shaping (this was the best of the four I made!). I found the bread was best eaten whilst still warm. I have done a bit of research and in general fougasse is best eaten on the day it is made. It freezes well though and should be good once heated through in a low oven (I haven’t tested this though).

I did plan to have another go at fougasse this month but unfortunately time got away from me. I look forward to seeing which recipes everyone has used and becoming inspired by the flavours. There will be more fougasse baked over the coming autumn and winter weekends, perfect served with warming bowls of soup.

 

11 thoughts on “Fresh from the oven – Fougasse

  1. Thank you so much for such wonderful challenge. I’d never made fougasse before & I very glad that I did. I like the contrast of the chorizo on your loaf it makes it feel very autumnal.

Leave a Reply

