Farmison

By now you may have already hear of Farmison, the new online store that launched Nationwide this month. If not let me tell you a bit about it. Farmison.com is short for ‘farm produce is on-line’. It is a new online food store delivering the finest British produce, directly from farmers across the country, who traditionally supply our great British chefs to UK homes.  They work with over 75 of the best independent British suppliers across butchery, fruit and vegetables, and farmhouse cheese – more than 60% of which are not available anywhere else online.

To promote their launch I was kindly sent a sample box to review here. It arrived today and I have to say it all looks great quality. It was sent by city-link couriers and I was surprised to see it included a couple of small pots of yogurt wrapped in a freezer pack which I was happy to see was still very cold.It came with a handy table showing what was included in the box, how to store it, where it was farmed/produced and some serving suggestions. There were also a couple of recipes included although bizarrely one of the recipes used vegetables that weren’t in the box this week.

Here’s what the box contained:

  • Potatoes
  • Garlic
  • Baby onions
  • Squash (onion variety)
  • Parsley root
  • Sweet pointed peppers
  • Romanesco cauliflower
  • White turnip
  • Organic, natural yogurt
  • melon
  • strasberries
  • pears

The majority of the food was sourced in the UK except the melon, parsley root and garlic which were grown in France.

I’m really looking forward to cooking with these ingredients but I have to say a few of them have thrown me a little. To start with I’ve never heard of parsley root before, in fact if I hadn’t read the helpful list inside I would have assumed they were parsnips. I’ve never really cooked turnip either and certainly never Romanesco cauliflower (neither of us like white cauliflower). I’d love to hear any suggestions you have for making the most out of these beautiful vegetables (the fruit will be eaten simply I imagine). I try to cook a few meals a week where the vegetables are the star of the show (usually pastas or risotto) but we are not vegetarian so ideas for side dishes would also be considered. Have you cooked with parsley root before? how can I cook/eat the baby onions? What would you do with the sweet pointed peppers? or the squash or Romanesco cauliflower?

I’ll write a follow up post when I’ve cooked all the ingredients. Thank you to Farmison for my sample box.

9 thoughts on “Farmison

  1. What a lovely box of treats! I got sent a delivery by Farmison too, but opted for the game (less healthy perhaps but equally delicious!). Romanesco is one of my favourite ingredients – it’s delicious with pasta, or in a jazzed up version of cauliflower cheese with toasted breadcrumbs and parmesan…yum! Would also recommend looking at Ottolenghi recipes as bet he has some good suggestions.

  2. You are obviously a person who loves food. Do you grow any of your own? I’m a passionate Foodie as well, and I get a lot of great fresh produce from my garden. I invite you to visit my blog!

  3. As lovely as farmison sounds, I have had an absolutely ridiculous experience with this company and wouldn’t recommend it to anybody. They emailed me the evening before my produce was supposed to be delivered saying they had rescheduled for the day after because they decided it might not keep until christmas otherwise. I found this to be one of the most patronising emails I have ever gotten from a company. It wasn’t even a real apology, just a statement. They never even considered that people (like me) might not want the food for christmas, but the days leading up to it. They pretty much decided that the customer was stupid and they would deal with it themselves.

    When I called (and finally got one of the directors who actually knew anything about this – took me only one day to get him) I found that instead of listening properly to my concerns (I’m not even here tomorrow when the food is supposed to arrive) he kept making excuses about his business being in its infancy and all that. Did that guy even study Business and Management? I did, and one of the first things we learned was never to make excuses like that. When I said I expected compensation for all the trouble – having driven 70 miles not only once but twice to pick up a parcel just to find it hadn’t been delivered yet again, he said that there might be compensation next year, but that’s only because they are being nice – after all their terms and conditions clearly state that this could happen and they don’t have to give me anything. And he went on to say that he is the owner of the business and I should be glad he’s talking to me, because companies like amazon would never have the owner talk to me.

    Frankly, I don’t care if it’s the owner I’m talking to or staff. When amazon had problems delivering stuff last year they offered compensations right away. It doesn’t matter what’s in the terms and conditions, it’s all about customer satisfaction. And do I seem satisfied to you?

    If I were you I would avoid farmison at all cost. I certainly will be from now on.

  4. I have had a very similar experience to the one outlined above. I do understand that new companies suffer teething problems, however as the owner has run other businesses you might expect him to anticipate this and therefore I question his decsision to launch an online food business right before Christmas, when getting everything right is absolutely essential. I will be writing to the owner and will post back regarding the response…….

    • Well, it’s interesting to hear that I’m not the only one. I also have to add that when I finally got what I ordered the meat was good but incredibly fatty (how that would happen if the animals are raised slowly and outside I don’t know, they should have fat all over, not giant layers, that mostly happens in commercial breeding) and the vegetables I got were partly shrivelled, with the clementines dry and most of the chestnuts not edible either. Some of the onions were well past usability as well. I must say for the price and the promises they gave, farmison didn’t deliver on a single one.

  5. Even though this is an old post, I thought this info might be useful for someone: romanesco is actually more similar to broccoli in flavour, and it’s perfect (even though it’s not the traditional products used for it, I think) for Sicilian Pasta coi Broccoli Arriminati. It’s a delicious pasta dish made by ‘melting’ some anchovy fillets in oil, sauteeing some chopped garlic and then adding the cauliflower/romanesco, some pine nuts, and some raisins soaked in water with a bit of tomato puree. It needs to be cooked until the veg is naturally pureed (probably about a half hour, because you’ll help it along), and served with spaghetti or other pasta, topped with breadcrumbs toasted with some oil (o cacio du’ povereddi; poor man’s cheese).

Leave a Reply

