Chesters by the river, Ambleside

A couple of weeks ago we spent a long weekend in the Lake district to celebrate my 30th birthday. We stayed in a camping pod on the shores of lake Windermere (you can read more about it and see plenty of photos from the trip on my photography blog here, here and here). I’ve shared some of my favorite cafes and restaurants in Ambleside before (here) and we went back to a couple of them this time round and enjoyed them just as much as we remembered (Zeffirellis and The Glass house). We did try a couple of new cafes, one of which I really want to tell you all about (not that they need the publicity though as they were packed). The cafe is Chesters by the river which is located a short drive from the centre of Ambleside. It is owned by the same people as The drunken duck inn.

Chesters by the river is set in a beautiful location (as you might imagine from the name it is right by the river) and it is a fantastic cafe and beautiful gift shop selling lots of unique gifts (including some food related). There is a large outdoor seating area overlooking the river and plenty of seating indoors for when it rains (which being the Lake district happens a lot). It was a glorious sunny day when we visited so all the outside seats were taken. We weren’t too disappointed as inside the cafe is beautifully designed and laid out (perhaps a bit too pink and girly for my husbands taste!).

We visited late afternoon for a well deserved coffee and cake after a long walk. I had the lemon meringue pie and my husband the coffee and walnut cake. The portions were possibly the most generous I have seen (easily big enough to share). My lemon meringue pie was absolutely delicious. I’m not a massive lover of pastry and usually leave the crusts behind but the pastry was so delicious and also reasonably thin that I ate it all. The lemon curd was really zingy and the meringue was heavenly. It was easily my foodie highlight of the trip. However my husband was a little disappointed as he said his cake was on the dry side.

There lunch menu was still written on the blackboard and a few salads were still left out. They looked really interesting and delicious. I think if we were to go back we would like to go nearer lunch time and try the savoury dishes and share a dessert! The prices were a little on the high side (the drinks no more so than the rest of the Lake district). Cakes/pies were around £4 a slice which to me is expensive if you’re just out for coffee and cake. On the other hand, the portions were very generous and if you thought of them as dessert the prices aren’t that unreasonable. The lemon meringue pie was easily the most generous pudding I have had in a while as well as the most delicious.

2 thoughts on “Chesters by the river, Ambleside

  1. Pingback: Review of 2011 | Purely food

Leave a Reply

