Hotel chocolat Christmas gifts review and a giveaway

This giveaway is now closed, thank you to everyone who took part.

When I was asked to take part in Hotel chocolat’s christmas blogger campaign I was thrilled. They very kindly sent me their Christmas collection gift bag to review which is part of their fabulous selection of christmas gifts. Not only that but they are giving me the opportunity to give one lucky reader the same gift bag too.

The Christmas collection gift bag includes the Classic Christmas Sleekster Selection, Christmas Gift Slab with milk chocolate and dark cookie pieces, Gingerbread Truffles and Orange Nice Spice Puddles. Over the last couple of weeks myself and my husband have tested these chocolates and here’s what we thought of them.

First off we’ll start with the classic Christmas sleekster selection since this is the center piece of the gift. We loved this box of chocolate, I don’t think there was a single chocolate in it that we both disliked. The box of chocolates were by far the most stylish looking collection I’ve had and they taste exquisite too. The chocolate all tastes really high quality and so smooth it really does melt in the mouth, especially the truffles. The flavours were very unique and also really festive. I particularly enjoyed the sea salt & caramel bauble (delicious milk chocolate with bits of crushed caramel and sea salt spread throughout), cherry Florentine (think morello cherry not glace cherry!), cinnamon praline and star anise truffle. My husband really enjoyed the rum truffle (lots of rum!), champagne truffle (again very generous with the booze), ginger cheesecake and zesty marzipan star.

Next up lets talk about the orange nice spice puddles. We loved these too and would describe them as chocolate buttons for adults. They are 40% milk chocolate buttons flavoured with orange, chilli and spices. I love the combination of chocolate and orange anyway but with the edition of these festive spices and a very subtle warming after taste of chilli these are a winner in my eyes.

The Christmas Gift Slab with milk chocolate and dark cookie pieces and a caramel gift was the next item we tried. Again the 40% milk chocolate is delicious and smooth. The cookie pieces are small and few and far between (in our slab at least) but delicious when you get a piece. The caramel is delicious and smooth too. The three elements work really well together. I would definitely buy this bar again.

Finally there was a packet of 6 milk chocolate gingerbread truffles included. Perhaps it was all the amazing chocolates we had tried in the sleekster selection but for me these were a bit disappointing. The chocolate somehow didn’t taste quiet as nice and the truffle was not in the same league as the rest of the chocolates in the sleekster collection. You can’t like them all though, can you?

The giveaway

On to the exciting part, here’s what you need to do if you want to be in with a chance of winning a Christmas collection gift pack (retailing at £38).

Mandatory entry –  Simply leave a comment on this post telling me which product from their Christmas range you’d like as a gift this christmas (Note – the prize is for christmas collection gift pack, not the gift you mention in your comments).

For an additional entry – Simply tweet this post using the twitter button below and comment telling me you have done so & your twitter username.

The rules

A winner from all the comments on this post will be selected using the random website.

The deadline for entries is 6pm (GMT)  Wednesday November 23rd 2011. I will then email the winner (as well as announcing on the blog) to obtain your postal address. If I have not heard back from the winner within 5 days another winner will be drawn at random.

This giveaway is open to all UK residents aged 18 and over.

You need to leave your e-mail address im the box provided when you comment, I am the only person that can see it.

24 thoughts on “Hotel chocolat Christmas gifts review and a giveaway

  1. What a delicious sounding selection! I’d love to sample this…and indeed probably every single item in the Hotel Chocolate Christmas range! The chocolate mince pies particularly appeal…

  2. What a fabulous collection, they all sound so good, the puddles and the zesty marzipan would be my first port of call. Like Kate before me, I am intrigued by the chocolate mince pies. Much as I like a good mince pie, I know which one I’d choose if given a choice.

  3. Ooh, it would have to be the Christmas Cuisine Gift Basket – I’d love to try that cocoa pasta!

    I’ve tweeted as well @frommyplate

    Fingers crossed!

  4. Pingback: Hotel chocolat giveaway – winner | Purely food

Leave a Reply

