Chorizo, pepper and mozzarella pasta bake

This dish came about last friday night, when after spending too long trying to come up with ideas for a fancy dress costume for the following night (unsuccessfully I might add), I went to prepare dinner, only to discover that the fridge was empty. Lurking at the back of the fridge I discovered a chorizo sausage and knew this would have to be the star of the dish. I no doubt bought it to use in paella or perhaps chorizo and pea risotto. Paella obviously wasn’t an option, tonight was definitely a store cupboard dish. The risotto was an option but we had a risotto the night before. My next thought was a fritatta but it turned out we had no eggs. Finally I settled on a pasta bake.

I searched the cupboards/fridge and discovered we had red onions, a well stocked herb and spice cupboard, a jar of griddled peppers, tinned tomatoes and a ball of mozzarella. The resulting dish was delicious, packed with flavour and a dish I have since cooked again already. Perhaps next time I would use a fresh pepper if I planned this dish in advance, adding it with the corizo. So here it is, a very rare recipe I came up with myself.

And the fancy dress party? well my husband came home from work with a Ozzy Osbourne costume for himself and in the end I stole the giant crucifix necklace from it, wore a black dress and hoped that standing next to him people would realise I was Sharon Osbourne. Best we could come up with in the 48 hours notice.

Chorizo, pepper and mozzarella pasta bake

Serves 2

Olive oil
1 medium red onion, diced
60g Chorizo, diced
2tsp balsamic vinegar
1/2 a 280g jar of griddled peppers, chopped
2tsp dried oregano
1tsp smoked paprika
Pinch of chilli flakes (optional)
1 x 400g tin chopped tomatoes
1/2 tsp sugar
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 small (100g) ball of mazzarella
125g Pasta (I used wholemeal fusilli, but use what ever type/shape you like)

  • Preheat the oven to 200C (180 fan).
  • Heat a frying pan over a moderate heat. Saute the onion in the olive oil until soft but not coloured.
  • Add the balsamic vinegar and cook for a couple of minutes.
  • Add the chorizo and cook until crisp.
  • Add the peppers (if using fresh peppers add with the chorizo and cook until softened), oregano, paprika and chilli (if using) and stir to mix well.
  • Add the tomatoes, sugar, salt and pepper. Stir well. Leave to simmer while you cook the pasta.
  • Boil a pan of water on the hob and add the pasta. Cook the pasta as directed on the packet.
  • Once the pasta is cooked, drain and add to the sauce in the frying pan. Add two thirds of the mozzarella torn in to small pieces. Mix well and then pour into an oven proof dish.
  • Scatter the rest of the torn up mozzarella over the top and place in the preheated oven. Cook for ten minutes or until the cheese is melted.

PrestoI am submitting my pasta for this weeks Presto Pasta Nights hosted this week by  HoneyB of The Live & Loves of Grumpy’s HoneyBunch.

5 thoughts on “Chorizo, pepper and mozzarella pasta bake

  1. Hi,
    I’m not usually one for randomly selecting recipes from the internet but glad I did! By far the best pasta dish I have made and eaten! So many flavours on each fork, one serving doesn’t seem enough…..
    Keep up the good work, I will try some more from your site!
    Best regards
    Rob the part-time chef

Leave a Reply

