Chocolate and almond biscotti

It’s been a bit quiet round here this month hasn’t it? During November and early December I seemed to pick up every cough and cold going round and started to feel a bit run down. Just working and keeping up with the basics at home was enough so as a result I didn’t have much to blog about. I’m pleased to say I’ve been feeling a lot better these last couple of weeks but have been busy getting ready for Christmas.

The tree is now up and decorated, the cards written and sent and the presents are wrapped and sat under the tree ready for Christmas day. We’ve even had a bit of snow.

Last weekend I made the most of a snowy day and baked some biscotti (recipe at the end of the post) for gifts. This is a recipe adapted from a Bill Granger recipe for pistachio and chocolate biscotti (also delicious). I’ve baked biscotti a few times with this recipe, the only thing I would change next time would be to add more almonds.

I also decorate the chutney I made back in October for gifts, using this recipe I shared with you last year.

So all that’s left for me to do is wish you all a merry christmas.

Chocolate and almond biscotti

Makes 20-30 biscuits

160g caster sugar
2 medium eggs
150g plain flour
60g good quality cocoa powder
80g almonds (next time I will increase this though as biscotti should be packed with nuts)

  • Preheat the oven to 180C/gas 4. Line a large baking tray with baking paper.
  • Using electric beaters, beat the eggs and sugar together until thick, pale and the mixture has increased in volume.
  • Sift in the flour and cocoa. Stir with a wood spoon to combine.
  • Add the almonds and mix until well combined.
  • Divide the mixture in half and shape in to 2 logs, about 15cm long on the baking tray. Flatten them slightly so they are approximately 2cm thick.
  • Bake for 20 minutes or until firm. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.
  • Turn the oven down to 120C/gas 1/2.
  • Cut the cool logs into slices approximately 1cm thick (I like to cut my logs on the diagonal). Spread the slices out in a single layer on baking trays and bake for 10 minutes. Turn the biscuits over and cook for a further 10 minutes.
  • Allow to cool completely. Store in an airtight container for up to a month (I doubt they’ll last that long though).
2 thoughts on “Chocolate and almond biscotti

  1. Pingback: 2011 in review « Claire's 365

  2. Pingback: Yarn along, crochet and reading January « Claire's 365

Leave a Reply

