Idealo holiday reads challenge 2012

This summer foodie 100 are running a holiday reads club to see what food bloggers are reading in their spare time. As part of the club Idealo UK are purchasing £25 worth of books for each food blogger who was chosen to take part in the club. I do love to read (fiction as well as cookbooks) so I was thrilled to be asked to take part. Although we have already been on our main holiday this year (which explains how quiet it has been on here recently) we are hoping to have several long weekend camping trips over the summer. So here are the books I will be reading this summer.

Gok cooks Chinese (I couldn’t resist chosing one cookbook). I’ve been loving watching this series the past few weeks and as someone who hasn’t cooked that much Chinese food I’ve learnt a lot. I wasn’t sure what to expect before I watched the first episode but the recipes are simple, healthy and look delicious and Gok and his dad make great tv. I can’t wait to get this book and start cooking from it.

The secrets between us, Louise Douglas.  I often look for inspiration for books on the TV book club and Richard and Judy’s book club as well as recommendations in magazines. Last year I read and loved The Radleys and I am currently enjoying reading The bed I made both from last years TV book club. I’m also looking forward to reading Before I go to sleep which was recommended by both of these sources. The secrets between us is one of Richard and Judy’s book club choices for this summer. A few of the other books sound good too but this one was the one that stood out for me most so I look forward to reading it this summer.

Stranded, Emily Barr. I have read and enjoyed every one of Emily Barr’s novels so I had to put her latest book on my summer reading list. This is supposed to be a gripping read about a woman who ends up stranded on a desert island. I have to be honest, if I read the description of this book and it was by an unknown author, it would not be one I would pick.

The hypnotist’s love story, Liane Moriarty. This is my final choice and is not released until August but that just gives me time to hopefully read the previous two books. I chose this book as I really enjoyed her last book (what Alice forgot) and the summary of this book sounds interesting.

Thank you to Idealo UK for purchasing these books for me to read this summer.

2 thoughts on “Idealo holiday reads challenge 2012

  1. Pingback: Idealo Holiday Reads Carnival | Foodies 100

  2. You are so awesome! I do not suppose I’ve truly read through a single thing
    like that before. So good to find someone with original thoughts on this subject.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is
    one thing that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

Leave a Reply

